His Royal Highness King Charles has recognised the importance of the environmental sector in his first New Year’s Honours list.

On 31 December, it was announced that former CEO of Suez and member of the Chartered Institution of Waste Management (CIWM) David Palmer-Jones was awarded an OBE for services to recycling.

Following the announcement John Scanlon, CEO for Suez recycling and recovery UK said: “I’m delighted David’s outstanding contribution has been recognised with an OBE.

“A leading voice for the resources sector throughout his career, whether speaking in his role here at SUEZ, on behalf of the ESA or FEAD, or now as an independent consultant, David has always been a strong advocate for a comprehensive legislative framework to create a circular economy.

“His influence is evident in the ongoing transformation of the way we think about and manage resources here in the UK, and I’d like to congratulate David on his OBE on behalf of all here at Suez.’

Susie Burrage, Managing Director of Recycled Products Limited, President of the British Metal Recycling Association (BMRA) and CIWM member also received an OBE for services to recycling and the environment.

She said: “I am overwhelmed to have been awarded this honour and proud that it is for services to recycling, which is requisite to the future of our planet.

“I dedicate this accolade to my family, past and present, who have supported me and encouraged me, especially my late father Tom, who brought me into this industry and encouraged me to take a seat at the boardroom table when it was predominantly men who were doing so.”

Environmental New Year’s Honours

CIWM said it was “delighted” to extend its congratulations.

  • Frank Ramsey Professor Emeritus of Economics, University of Cambridge. For services to Economics and to the Natural Environment.
  • Clara Barby. Lately Chief Executive Officer, Impact Management Project. For services to International Sustainability Standards.
  • Professor Richard David Bardgett. Professor of Ecology, University of Manchester. For services to Soil Ecology and Climate Change Science.
  • Andrea Helen Ledward. Director, International Biodiversity and Climate, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs. For services to the Environment.
  • Susie Janet Burrage. Managing Director, Recycled Products Limited. For services to Recycling and to the Environment.
  • David Palmer-Jones. Lately Chief Executive Officer, Suez Recycling and Recovery. For services to Recycling.
  • Professor Mohamed Pourkashanian. Managing Director, Energy Innovation Centre, University of Sheffield. For services to Net Zero Research and to Innovation.
  • James Matthew William Alexander. Volunteer. For services to the Natural Environment.
  • Dr Robert Anderson (Roy Anderson). For services to Science and Nature.
  • Christopher Graham Collins. Broadcaster and Comedian. For services to Entertainment.
  • Martin John Hamilton Dorey. Founder, #2minute campaigns. For services to Recycling and to the Environment.
  • Maxwell Apaladaga Ayamba. Founder, Sheffield Environmental Movement. For services to the Environment and to the community in Sheffield, South Yorkshire
  • David Richard Foster. Chief Executive Officer, Milton Keynes Parks Trust. For services to the Environment and to the community in Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire.
  • John Philip Lord. Chair, Ribble Rivers Trust. For services to the Environment.
  • Michael Anthony Smyth. Chair, Energy4All. For services to the Environment.
  • Dara Seamus McAnulty. For services to the Environment and to People with Autism Spectrum Disorder.
  • Thomas Charles Williams. Director, Legs4Africa. For services to Disabled People in Africa and to the Environment.
  • James Patrick Glass. Chief Islander, Tristan da Cunha. For services to the Marine Environment and to the island of Tristan da Cunha.
  • Robert Andrew Schofield. Senior UK Overseas Territories Officer, Royal Society for the Protection of Birds. For services to the Environment and to the community in Tristan da Cunha.

Original Source